EXPLORE THE HISTORY OF THE BRONX
In 1965, the 1758 Valentine-Varian House was donated to The Bronx County Historical Society to
be used as a museum. After restoration, the house was opened in 1968 as the Museum of Bronx History. Visitors today can touch the fieldstones Isaac Valentine used to construct the house and walk on the oak and pine floorboards he fashioned. The main level contains three galleries that feature a rich rotation of exhibitions as well as a museum gift store.
The house stands in a quiet residential neighborhood at Bainbridge Avenue and E. 208th Street, just a few minutes walk from Montefiore Medical Center, The BCHS Research Library and The Bronx County Archives buildings.